Useful Websites

There are a great variety of websites available to parishes and clergy that can assist them in their ministry and the care of the fabric of their church buildings.

The list is broken down into three main areas covering sites of general interest, issues to do with church buildings and sites for lay officers or clergy.

Websites of general interest

Diocese

The Diocesan website – elydiocese.org
The Diocesan Advisory Committee – ely.anglican.org/information/care_of_churches
The Ely Cathedral website – elycathedral.org

National

The Church of England website – www.churchofengland.org
A Church Near You – www.achurchnearyou.com

Websites covering church buildings

Churchcare – www.churchcare.co.uk
‘Church Matters’ (from Ecclesiastical Insurance Group) – www.ecclesiastical.com/churchmatters
English Heritage – www.english-heritage.org.uk/caring/places-of-worship
The Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings – www.spab.org.uk
The Ancient Monument Society – www.ancientmonumentssociety.org.uk
The Council for British Archaeology – www.britarch.ac.uk
The Georgian Group – www.georgiangroup.org.uk
The Victorian Society – www.victoriansociety.org.uk
The Twentieth Century Society – www.c20society.org.uk
Natural England – www.naturalengland.org.uk
Church Buildings Council – www.churchofengland.org/about-us/our-buildings/churches.aspx
Commonwealth War Graves Commission – www.cwgc.org
Heritage Gateway – www.heritagegateway.org.uk/gateway (where information on England’s historic sites and buildings can be searched for, including archaeology and English Heritage records and registers)
Heritage Help – heritagehelp.org.uk (a resource provided by the National Amenities Societies to offer information and advice on matters related to the management and protection of local historic environments)
Church Building Projects – www.churchbuildingprojects.co.uk

Websites for clergy and lay officers

National

Parish Resources – www.parishresources.org.uk
Church Support Hub – churchsupporthub.org
Christian Copyright Licensing International – www.ccli.co.uk
Churches Together in Britain and Ireland – www.ctbi.org.uk
The Charity Commission – www.charity-commission.gov.uk
The Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association – www.easanet.co.uk
RIBA Register of Architects Accredited in Building Conservation – www.aabc-register.co.uk
Grant Finder – www.grantfinder.co.uk
Listed Places of Worship Grant Scheme – www.lpwscheme.org.uk

Diocese

Chancel Repair Liability advice & guidance – ely.anglican.org/information/chancelrepair